VIII|Major Climb: Descend

Gush, I personally couldn’t believe I made a total of eight series for this one Major Climb. Haha I just really wanted to maximize everything and this ain’t the first time however. Nothing still beats the record of the Hashtag: MTDoV Series.

Well yeah. Just what the title suggests, this post is intended for the culmination of our three-day climb.

We started fixing our tents as well as keeping our trashes around 9 am in the morning. It took as mush time to prepare our meals and fetch water from a distant.

10590451_10203701223329919_7265960308586335930_n

Photo Credit: Shobe Cadigal

I guess it was around 10 am when we started our trek. Woosh! Here’s our traditional SAMEC photo. Still, it’s a grabbed photo from Pach- my co-aspirant as well.

1002221_995603257149792_5100719518256379553_n

This time, we will be exiting via Macadak to Pluto trail. Honestly, I’m super unfamiliar with this trail but they said the exit point was Bansalan. I never thought this trail was really challenging. As in, physically painful!!!

10522439_10203701139447822_6143102740586670917_n - Copy

First few minutes, the view was still flagged with fog. It was quite hard to appreciate what on the lower part and we were constantly praying rain won’t happen. If it did rain- well, we’ll be sure to be soaked for many many hours.

Thanked God, rain never came. Yey!!

1380

After a couple of minutes, the fog finally got away. Right then, we were already blessed with great view from atop. You’ll see right there the Geothermal Power Plant and some picturesque mountains meeting the clouds, facing Kidapawan.

1385

That’s lake Jordan from the distant. I don’t know why we didn’t spot the Lake Venado from here.

138413851386

It was really steep and couldn’t be underestimated. You only have grasses to hold on so this area is really prone for ankle sprain. I also was a victim, twisting my left ankle while descending.

The real challenge, however, started when we reached the base of Mt. Apo. Accordingly, there was this visible trail which was the result of having this area cast into fire many years ago. We expected to see this trail right away, but other circumstances prevented us from doing so.

But with great determination, we kept on moving and resting in between while our colleagues continued to look for the said trail. We were technically moving around bushes and tall cogon grass.

Meanwhile, I observed them taking any chances to find the right trail. While other went ahead and searched the trail, other also climbed one of the trees to have some panoramic view and good position for our exact location. We heard them shouting or made some claps served as a signal. I bet, they were really good at it!

At the same time, other convinced us enough and didn’t make us feel the “Oh-we-were-lost-kind-of-feeling”. This somehow helped us calmed our unsettling thoughts and nerves. This worked, though. After all, they had all the experience and our trust remained firm.

Approximately one hour and we made our way out of the jungle-like cogon grass. We settled immediately and grabbed our lunch while they discussed which way to follow. That’s when I realized, climbing mountains weren’t just for views. You really had to expect the unexpactables. HAHAHA Forget that, it’s my je ne sais quoi term!

1394

And that’s Mt. Apo from where we sat and ate our lunch. Then picture taking will ever be forgotten afterwards. 1398

The funny thing in here was that we followed others to get to Nursery, heading more than 100 meters away only to find out that there’s a shorter route just above where we had our lunch! 😀

Below was also the picture from the Nursery. If you could see the distinct wide trail, that’s the trail I was talking about earlier. Just imagined, we were just right from the top 2-4 hours ago.14021404

You’ll see, it’s really majestic. Mt. Apo cannot be compared among any other. It was really my first time to see this huge bulging land. God, you’re so GOOD! ❤

The last leg of our climb was perhaps the continuation of our “Finding Trail” experience. I could still remember how we were put into queue, following one another. My colleagues lead different ways to find which would be the best trail to go. When one didn’t work out, we tried to follow the other, just until we finally had a quite good vision of the trail.

1407

We followed, scrambled, re hydrate and sat in between. I couldn’t still feel the pain though I knew my knees started to weaken. I wished to sit for long every time we stopped and waited for others to come.

Almost eight hours of walking and the area started to dark. Yet, we were still around the jungle. That time our team lead decided to speed up our pace. Of course, we should follow not unless we wanted to stay there overnight.

It was a success when we finally breached the grassland. Hooray! Goodbye forest!

But I never knew this last phase could be the most painful EVER!! Honestly, I was silently cursed! HAHA It started when both of my knees began to ache so badly. 😦

Then, there’s a whole lot pits in the area. Maybe these were made for carabaos and horses so chances are we fell our feet to death. Arghh, I really don’t know what to do. Even myself was a victim of such. But really, when I think about that, all I could do is to really laugh out.

When pain strike, all I need to do was to walk backwards. The pain was really exhausting, brought me from the front lines down to the end of the queue.

But for whatever it takes, I need to survive. Haha Finally, at around 9pm, we reached Bansalan. Totally, everything went off from there. We waited for our jeepney and rode back to Davao. We reached Davao around 1 am.

Thus, this was the longest night I ever had. At least, we survived!!!

 

PS: Some photos were grabbed. Thanks Maricel Perez and Shobe Cadigal. ❤

 

One thought on “VIII|Major Climb: Descend

  1. Pingback: May the Mountains be Healed | M.I.C.H.A.E.L.A

Leave a Reply

